top of page

Coping With A Mental Illness Diagnosis

As we approach the conclusion of Mental Health Awareness Month, it is crucial to remember that managing a mental illness is a continuous journey for those affected. The heightened awareness in May can lead to an increase in diagnoses, offering more individuals the opportunity to seek the help they need.

Receiving a mental illness diagnosis can be overwhelming, evoking a range of emotions such as fear, sadness, anger, denial, and even relief. These feelings are often intensified by the persistent stigma surrounding mental health issues.

The 6 stages of a mental illness diagnosis:

  1. Acceptance

  2. Insight

  3. Action

  4. Self Esteem

  5. Healing

  6. Meaning

We encourage you to take the time to understand the stages of this process and be patient with yourself or your loved ones. There is no rush to 'figure it all out' immediately. Adjusting to a diagnosis takes time, and that’s perfectly okay. Together, we can continue to foster understanding and support for mental health throughout the entire year.

1 view0 comments


bottom of page