top of page

What defines discrimination?

By Marvel Jones - Founder & CEO of STOP COVAD

(Crimes of Violence and Discrimination)

Violence is at an all-time high in our communities and so is discrimination. Most people are not familiar with the classes of discrimination and how they can often be undertones to violence. Discrimination is more than race, color, and sexual orientation. According to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) there are at least 13 types of discrimination. Learn about the various types of discrimination prohibited by the laws enforced by the EEOC.

STOP COVAD takes a stand against all types of discrimination.

Discrimination in any of these areas is wrong. Know your rights and protect them.

1. Age

2. Disability/Illness

3. Equal Pay/Compensation

4. Genetic Information

5. Harassment

6. National Origin

7. Pregnancy

8. Race/Color

9. Religion

10. Retaliation

11. Sex

12. Sexual Harassment

13. Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity


o Accept me for who I am, not who you want me to be.

o Ask me if you don’t understand me.

o Cry with me

o Hear me because my voice counts.

o Laugh with me

o Listen to me—maybe we can learn from each other.

o Respect me and I will respect you.

o See me, don’t look over me.

o Talk to me.

o Understand that I have feelings too.

We must ALL do our part to help make this world a better place for EVERYONE.

For more information visit:

27 views0 comments


bottom of page